books, Fantasy, High Fantasy, May, New Releases, Retellings, Reviews, Romance
Comments 8

Book Review ~ Court of Thorns and Roses

16096824

A thrilling, seductive new series from New York Timesbestselling author Sarah J. Maas, blending Beauty and the Beast with faerie lore.

When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin—one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.

As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she’s been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow grows over the faerie lands, and Feyre must find a way to stop it . . . or doom Tamlin—and his world—forever.

Perfect for fans of Kristin Cashore and George R. R. Martin, this first book in a sexy and action-packed new series is impossible to put down!

A Court of Thorns and Roses

by Sarah J. Maas

Published May 5, 2015

Publisher: Bloomsbury Children

Genre: Retellings/Fantasy/YA Lit/Romance

My Rating: ♥♥♥♥♥

Action! Romance! Drama! This BOOK! GAH! I love retellings of Beauty and the Beast, and Sarah J. Maas’ Court of Thorns and Roses has to be at the top of the ones that I love. Feyre and Tamlin—heart eyes out the wazoo. Forget Rhysand x Feyre—I’m Feyre x Tam all the way!

Okay, onto the review. Feyre was this kick ass (I expect nothing less from Maas), female who has to provide for her family since the age of 14, after her family becomes destitute. She is an excellent archer, and one day, she comes across a deer and a wolf, which after she kills both animals, sets events into motion. I hate Feyre’s family. They are absolutely terrible to this girl who provides and cares for them. They basically sit around waiting for Feyre to bring home a kill that they can eat and sell the hide. Her sisters demean her because she does not have the learning that they do, while their father basically ignores them. They pissed me off so much. But once Tamlin is introduced–drooly face.

Tamlin (I sort of picture a Chris Hemsworth type of guy), is this gorgeous enigma who is socially awkward and sort of mean at the beginning. To be honest, all the guys were gorgeous (at least, from the image that was put into my head from the descriptions, they were). There were some juicy scenes in there that were delicious, and wonderful. From the ending, there seems that there might be a possible love triangle (which I am not sure how to feel about). But I cannot WAIT for the sequel to come out! Can I have it now please!?!

 

buy the book from The Book Depository, free delivery

8 Comments

  1. Pingback: Book Review | A Court of Mist and Fury | Darcy's Book Blog

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s