August, Fantasy, Historical Fiction, Reviews, YA Lit
Comments 3

Review | Silver in the Blood

22929540

New York Times bestselling author brings dark secrets to life in a lush new YA perfect for fans of Libba Bray or Cassandra Clare.

Society girls from New York City circa 1890, Dacia and Lou never desired to know more about their lineage, instead preferring to gossip about the mysterious Romanian family that they barely knew. But upon turning seventeen, the girls must return to their homeland to meet their relatives, find proper husbands, and—most terrifyingly—learn the deep family secrets of The Claw, The Wing, and The Smoke. The Florescus, after all, are shape-shifters, and it is time for Dacia and Lou to fulfill the prophecy that demands their acceptance of this fate… or fight against this cruel inheritance with all their might.

With a gorgeous Romanian setting, stunning Parisian gowns, and dark brooding young men, readers will be swept up by this epic adventure of two girls in a battle for their lives.

I am a huge Jessica Day George fan. Her writing is fabulous, always managing to draw the reader into her stories with humor and suspense, and creating characters that are witty and strong. Silver in Blood is no exception to her other stories.

The story takes place in the 19th century, mainly in Romania. Two cousins, LouLou and Dacia, are being sent by their family to Bucharest to meet their extended family, the Florescus and learn the deep family secret—they are shape-shifters. This is an epic adventure, filled with gorgeous settings, beautiful gowns, and brooding young men (yum). I loved LouLou and Dacia, and seeing their character development!

There were several times during the story when I was on the edge of my seat, eager to find out what happened next. I was not disappointed by this book! If you enjoy Libba Bray’s The Great and Terrible Beauty trilogy, you will love this book.

Rating: 4/5 stars


[Silver in Blood, by Jessica Day George (Bloomsbury USA Childrens)]

Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository | Goodreads

3 Comments

  1. Pingback: August Wrap-up | Darcy's Book Blog

  2. Pingback: Book Recommendation Thursday | Silver in the Blood | Darcy's Book Blog

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s