Arc Copies, Chick Lit, Contemporary, March, Reviews, Romance
Comment 1

Arc Book Review | Rome Is Where the Heart Is

romeCan a holiday romance ever have a happy ending? Escape with Kate to the sun-drenched city of Rome where a love affair is just about to begin …

When Kate’s husband Matt dumps her on Friday 13th she decides enough is enough – it’s time for her to have some fun and so she hops on a plane to Rome. A week of grappa and gelato in pavement cafes under azure blue skies will be just what the doctor ordered.

What she doesn’t count on is meeting and falling for sexy policeman Alessandro. But the course of true love doesn’t run smoothly – Alessandro has five meddling sisters, a fearsome mama and a beautiful ex Orazia. They’re all certain that Kate is not the girl for him.

Can Kate and Alessandro’s love last the distance? Or will she return home with the one souvenir she doesn’t want – a broken heart …

Fall in love with the colourful cafes and the cobbled piazzas of Rome and follow Kate’s dreams and her heart in this enchanting escapist read. Perfect for fans of Debbie Johnson and Carol Matthews.


I’m fully in love with this story and Alessandro is my new book boyfriend. 🇮🇹❤️🇮🇹❤️

I read this around New Year’s Eve, 2016, and it was just what I needed to end the year on a positive note. It’s such a fluffy, romantic read, it’ll give you a cavity. It also had me longing to go back to Italy and explore again all the areas mentioned in the book.

After being left by her husband, Matt on Friday 13th, Kate decides to go to Rome, Italy, for a much needed vacation to get her life back together. On her first day there, she shares a taxi with Jamie, a friendly American (Kate’s British), who instantly becomes her best friend (I should also mention he’s gay, so he’s not a love interest). Also on her first night,  she falls asleep, drunk, on the Spanish Steps, and that is how she first meets Alessandro, who is a policeman. She meets him again the next day when she goes to the police station to report the theft of her purse. From there you could say they have a whirl wind romance.

What I loved most was how non-angsty it was. It is as advertised – an uplifting romance. (It should also come with the warning “this book will give you travelitis – read with caution”).

My Rating: 4/5 stars

*I was given an arc copy via Netgalley from Bookouture. Thank you!

1 Comment

  1. Pingback: Arc Book Review | A Wedding in Italy | Darcy's Book Blog

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s