Arc Copies, February, Fiction, Mystery, Reviews
Leave a Comment

Book Review | Elementary, She Read

screen-shot-2017-01-30-at-12-12-32-pm

This was throughly delightful read, perfect for fans of Sherlock Holmes and Murder, She Wrote (which I happen to be a fan of both!) Once I read that this was a Sherlock Holmes bookshop mystery, obviously I had to get it! Gemma Doyle (relation to Arthur Conan Doyle? Who knows?) is like a modern female Holmes, with her Watson sidekick in Jayne. She is a transplanted Englishwoman living in West London, Cape Cod, running her great uncles’ bookshop, Sherlock Holmes Bookshop and Emporium. Jayne runs Mrs. Hudson’s Tea Room right next door (and it sounds like a place I very much want to visit!).

After Gemma finds a potentially rare magazine containing the first Sherlock Holmes story left in her shop, things get interesting. Especially when they stumble over a dead body! And to complicate matters, it turns out that she had a relationship a while back with the investigating detective. All this makes for a fun, entertaining read!

At times, it felt like Gemma was almost too much like Holmes, too clinical, which I suppose isn’t a bad thing. However, it sometimes seemed like she was a bit too cold. But in all honesty, it didn’t bother me that much. I still throughly enjoyed reading Gemma’s story, and am looking forward to book 2 in the series!

My Rating: 4/5 stars

* I received an arc copy of this book via Netgalley from Crooked Lane Books

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s