Arc Copies, October, Reviews, Thriller
Leave a Comment

Her Last Secret by Barbara Copperthwaite #FridayReview

Blurb: There are some secrets you can never tell.

The last thing to go through Dominique Thomas’s head was the image of her teenage daughter’s face and her heart lifted. Then the shot rang out.

They were the perfect family. Successful businessman Ben Thomas and his wife Dominique live an enviable life, along with their beautiful children; teenager Ruby and quirky younger daughter, Mouse.

But on Christmas Day the police are called to their London home, only to discover a horrific scene; the entire family lying lifeless, victims of an unknown assailant.

But when Ruby’s diary is discovered, revealing her rage at the world around her, police are forced to look closer to home for the key to this tragedy.

Each family member harboured their own dark truths – but has keeping their secrets pushed Ruby to the edge of sanity? Or are there darker forces at work?

This dark, gripping psychological thriller will have you holding your breath until the very last page. Fans of Behind Closed Doors, Sometimes I Lie, and The Girl on the Train will be captivated.


by Barbara Copperthwaite | Publisher: Bookouture | Publication Date: 13 October 2017

My Rating: 3/5 stars


 On the outside, the Thomas family looks perfect, but on the inside hatred is festering and everything comes to an explosion Christmas Day when the police are called to their home after shots are heard by the neighbors.

Now, the premise of this was thrilling and I wanted to enjoy it. But I was left feeling kind of indifferent towards it. I didn’t hate it, but I’m just not a fan of it either. I was more drawn in to the chapters where the police were getting ready to enter the house (and those were super brief chapters) than I was to what led up to the shooting. For me, the back story was too slow, while the police chapters were fast-paced and engaging; that led to a kind of disconnect for me that had me losing interest.

Overall, I just wasn’t as engaged as I was hoping to be.

SaveSave

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s